How To Make A Kanzashi Rose

I first learned to make Kanzashi flowers from my older sister back when I was in High School. It totally blew my mind to learn that I could make a flower with fire! Since I was really bad at sewing at the time, I basically avoided cloth and anything that looked like it required basic sewing skills. So when my sister showed me that I could make beautiful cloth roses without a needle and thread, it was love at first sight.

This is a great craft for sewing gurus, veteran crafters, and newbies alike!

Here’s What You Need:

Satin Ribbon

Scissors

Lighter/Candle

Glue Gun w/Glue Sticks

Tweezers

Hair Clips

Gift Card (Or something of a similar size and shape)

Step 1: Lay the ribbon out and place the gift card or similarly sized object horizontally on the ribbon, lining it up with the beginning of the ribbon as shown below.

Step 2: Begin wrapping the ribbon around the long side of the card.

Do this approximately five times. (You may wrap more than five times for larger and fuller looking roses).

Step 4: Cut the ribbon on both ends of the card. You may do this all at once or, if you would like cleaner cuts, I recommend cutting each piece individually.

Step 5: Seal of the edges by gently holding the ribbon over and open flame. (This will keep the edges from fraying).

Step 6: Fold the upper right corner into the center of the ribbon.

Step 7: Seal the folded piece over and open flame.

Step 8: Repeat steps 6 and 7 with upper left corner this time.

For maximum safety, use tweezers or jewelry tongs when sealing the edges. (As shown below).

Step 9: Fold the lower right corner straight across into the middle and carefully seal it over an open flame.

Step 10: Repeat step 9 with the lower left corner.

Repeat Steps 5-10 with each of the remaining ribbon pieces.

Step 11: Place and hot glue the petals folded side down overlapping one another in two rows as seen below.

Step 12: Carefully begin rolling on side of the first row of petals, hot-gluing the bottom to produce a bud.

Step 13: Wrap and hot glue the remaining petal row to the bud.

Repeat Steps 1-10 with a green ribbon for the leaves with only 4 and 1/2 ribbon pieces this time.

Hot glue each leaf to the outside of the rose, spacing evenly.

Turn the rose over and hot glue the extra 1/2 piece of green ribbon to the bottom.

Hot glue the hair clip to the bottom of the rose. (I recommend doing this with the clip open so to avoid accidentally closing it off).

Flip your rose hair clip over and rock it!

Be creative! You don’t have to stick to one color for your rose. These roses can be for any occasion! The only limit is your own imagination.

“Plaid Dandy” Rose
Red Valentine Rose
Blue Spring Rose

Published by ladylight24

I am a 23 year-old baker, crafter, jeweler, artist, writer, designer and homemaker. I love light and cherish the simple things in life. I am mostly housebound by chronic illness, so I strive to share light, knowledge and creativity via the internet and social media. Since I am mostly unable to serve outwardly through physical labor and visiting, I devote my time to learning and applying ways to provide emotional comfort and to the spreading of light and knowledge. My motto comes from an ecclesiastical leader whom I love and respect: Thomas S. Monson. He said, "Our most significant opportunities will be found in times of greatest difficulty." I hope to be an example of this joyful truth in all that I do and say. Follow me on the other platforms linked below: Shop: Etsy.com/shop/RiseShineButterflies https://hubpages.com/@butterfliesnroses Instagram: phoenixrise21 Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rise-Shine-Butterflies-113188446713131/

2 thoughts on “How To Make A Kanzashi Rose

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started